## XXVI IAMM TAPC CHAPTER ANNUAL STATE CONFERENCE - 2023 March 11-12, 2023

Gleneagles Global Hospital Lakdi-ka-pul,Hyderabad – 500 004

### **SECRETARY'S REPORT**

The 26<sup>th</sup>Annual State Conference of IAMM TAPC was hosted by Department of Microbiology, Gleneagles Global Hospital, Lakdi ka pul, Hyderabad. preceded by the Pre-Conference Workshop/CME on March 9–10, 2023

The conference was inaugurated on March 10, 2023 at 7.00 pm by Chief Guest **Dr Arti Kapil, President IAMM National Body**. Release of Conference Souvenir by Ranganathan Iyer, Organising Secretary, Conference and other Dignitaries were Dr I. Jyothi Padmaja (President, IAMM – TAPC) Organizing Secretary, Mohammad Khaleel (Secretary, IAMM – TAPC), Dr Kishore. A, Treasurer, IAMM TAPC State Chapter, Executive committee members, Senior faculty and Life members of Association

Release of e-bulletin 2023 by **Dr Arti Kapil, Prof, Dept. Microbiology, AIIMS New Delhi** President IAMM National Body

First Day of Conference was on 11<sup>th</sup> March 2023, started with Presidential Oration by Dr I. Jyothi Padmaja (President, IAMM – TAPC) Chairperson – Dr K. Nagamani, Prof, Dept. of Microbiology, Govt. Medical College, Vikarabad, **Immediate Past President IAMM TAPC Chapter** 

Dr K. Rajya Lakshmi Oration by Dr D. Satyanarayana Murty, Assoc Prof Ranga Raya Medical College & Hospital Kakinada AP.

The Scientific session started with four mini symposium

- -Antimicrobial Resistance in M. tuberculosis its Impact on the management of patients
- -Antifungal susceptibility testing of Yeasts Current Status
- -Establishing a Laboratory for Sexually Transmitted Infections
- -Antimicrobial Resistance in Salmonella species- Its impact on the Management of Patients

**GBM** (**General Body meeting**) was held pre lunch discussed on review and preview of agenda regarding increase of membership, academic events, Registration of Association, Donation for lifetime achievement award. Dr I. Jyothi Padmaja, Principal & Professor, Department of Microbiology, GIMSR has been elected as Ex-President of IAMM TAPC Chapter. **Dr Ranganathan N Iyer** has been elected as **President** of IAMM TAPC Chapter.

Dr Kishore. A, Treasurer, IAMM TAPC State Chapter has distributed the Budget, it was approved by members attended, amendments made are displayed on website as minutes of Meeting.

**Hot topics in infection control** were the key session in the Conference

#### The Impact of the Microbiome on Infection Prevention & Control and Transmission

(Prof Shaheen Mehtar – Past Chair Infection Control Africa Network- Cape Town South Africa)

#### **Antimicrobial Resistance – WHO Initiatives for solutions**

(Dr Anuj Sharma Technical Officer AMR, Health Laboratories & Infection Control , WHO Office New Delhi India )

Parallel Prize & free Paper sessions were held successfully

Dr Venkata Siva Pramata Memorial Best paper for "Health Care Associated Infections" was introduced this conference.

Gandhi Medical College free oral paper prize for Postgraduates and Poster sessions – went on the whole day and also following day.

PANEL DISCUSSION on "Competency Based Medical Education: The Way Forward"

Moderator: Dr. P.M. Chalam (Dean, Bhaskara Medical College Hyderabad)

Panelists: Dr. Jyothi Lakshmi Mudaliar (Osmania Medical College Hyderabad)

Dr. I Jyothi Padmaja (Gitam Institute of Medical Sciences, Vizag Visakhapatnam)

Dr. Anuradha Basavaraju (Khammam Medical College, Khammam)

Dr. Mohammad Khaleel (Mahavir Institute of Medical Sciences Vikarabad)

# Day 2 Interactive session by Dr Ranganathan N Iyer on Clinical Case Based Learning

Debates Learning Clinical Microbiology through Cases which touch both on Laboratory aspects as well as the impact that we have on patient care and management Topic: "Centralised Clinical Microbiology Service – Boon or Bane" was organized by to

The Conference was be preceded by 5 workshop/CME learning events that highlight training of Postgraduates on newer patterns of evaluation and assessment, sexually transmitted infections, CSSD management, automation, anaerobic bacteriology and Immunofluorescence - autoimmunity. These will be held in various hospitals as parallel activities across the city.

Annual Report of academic activities and achievements done by executive committee was delivered by **Mohammad Khaleel (Secretary, IAMM – TAPC).** The session was concluded with proposal of vote of thanks by Dr Ranganathan Iyer.

**PG quiz** (Dr Satyanarayana Prize) in a digital platform for the 2<sup>nd</sup> time conducted by Dr D.S. Murty sir and Dr Vijendra Kawle - Joint Secretary.

**PG Pedagogy** (topic name with colleges involved) by Dr Sudha Madhuri, Executive Member, with Dr Kishore and Dr Shabnum.M as judges.

**PG Write up Competition** on various trending topics along with Judges were approved by Executive committee and well organized by Dr Lakshmi T, Executive member.

News bulletin material was organised by Dr Shabnum. M, Executive member with articles on Clinical and diagnostic Microbiology including Game based teaching for undergraduates.

The Next Conference venue is decided Post Conference at Siddhartha Medical College, Vijayawada, AP under the leadership of Dr Ch Srinivas Rao, Professor & HOD. Microbiology The session ended with valedictory session and Prize Distribution.