GITAM Institute of Medical Sciences and Research, Visakhapatnam

The 25<sup>th</sup> Silver Jubilee Conference of IAMM TAPC was hosted by Department of Microbiology, GITAM Institute of Medical Sciences and Research, GITAM Deemed to be University from 10<sup>th</sup> to 11<sup>th</sup> of September 2022. The Conference Theme was "MICROBIAL OMICS".

Keeping in pace with the current challenges and technology perspectives, three Pre-Conference workshops were conducted on "Whole Genome Sequencing on Portable Long Read Platform", "Antimicrobial Resistance and its importance on patient management" and "Implementation of CBME Based UG Syllabus" on 9<sup>TH</sup> September 2022.

First Day of Conference was on 10<sup>th</sup> September 2022, started with Dr. K. Rajya Lakshmi Oration by *Dr. Ranganathan Iyer*, Consultant Clinical Microbiologist, Gleneagles Global Hospitals, Hyderabad on "Clinical Microbiology in the Kal(i) Yug. Does it serve Patients". The conference was inaugurated by Shri. M. Sri Bharat, Hon'ble President, GITAM, Dr. Gitanjali Batmanabhane, Pro VC Medical Sciences, GITAM Deemed to be University, and Other Dignitaries were Dr. Shilpa Kandipalli, APMC Observer, Dr. I. Jyothi Padmaja, Organizing Secretary, Dr. K. Nagamani (President, IAMM – TAPC), Dr. Mohammad Khaleel (Secretary, IAMM – TAPC). The session was concluded with proposal of vote of thanks by Dr. D. R. Harika, Associate professor, GIMSR.

Three Senior Professors of Microbiology were felicitated i.e., Dr. Savitri Sharma, Director Emeritus, LVPEI, Dr. Radha, Retired Professor, and Dr. Rajendra Prasad Rtd Microbiologist in Steel Plant.

*Dr. V. Lakshmi*, Professor Kamineni Academy of Medical Sciences and Research Center gave Guest Lecture on "Translational Research – My journey "Other Guest lecturers were By *Dr. Vamsi Krishna Yenamandra*, Physician, Scientist & Assistant Professor, CSIR, Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology on – "Genomic technologies for enabling precisionmedicine in genetic skin diseases: Host and Microbiome". Guest lecture on Recent Advances in TB Resistance and Emerging Diagnostics was given by *Dr. Arun Karthik*. Medical Affairs Manager, South Diagnostic Systems, BD Life Sciences.

GITAM Institute of Medical Sciences and Research, Visakhapatnam Various Prize Paper sessions under the categories of Dr. C. S. Bhaskaran Award, Sri. B. Krishna Rao Memorial Prize for PGs, Sri. B. S. Lakshmi Memorial prize for Junior Faculty, RMC Prize for Senior Faculty and free papers were conducted. 1<sup>st</sup> day conference ended with General Body meeting. Dr. I. Jyothi Padmaja, Principal & Professor, Department of Microbiology, GIMSR has been elected as President of IAMM TAPC Chapter.

The Second Day scientific session started with Presidential Oration by *Dr. K. Nagamani*, President, IAMM TAPC followed by PG quiz (Dr. Satyanarayana Prize) Conducted by Dr. T. Lakshmi Jyothi, Additional Professor, AIIMS. Dr. Mohammed Khaleel, Secretary, IAMM TAPC and Dr. Yona Senior resident, AIIMS in a digital platform for the first time. The second guest lecture was given by *Dr. Savitri Sharma*, Director Emiritus, LVPEI on Recent Advances in *Pythium insidiosum* keratitis. On Second Day PG Pedagogy (Guntur Medical College Prize) and Shri. I.S.N Murthy Memorial Prize for Posters was conducted. The session ended with valedictory session and Prize Distribution.

Prize Winners: 20

Total Number of Delegates Attended: 263

### LIST OF AWARDS AND PRIZES FOR XXV IAMM TAPC ANNUAL CONFERENCE 2022

S.No	Prize Category	Name of the winner Candidate	College
1.	Dr.C.S.Bhaskaran Award  "Comparison of Phenotypic Confirmation Test (PCT) and Double Disc Synergy Test (DDST) for Detection of Extended Spectrum β- Lactamases (ESBL) Producers Among Gram Negative Bacilli in Tertiary Care Hospital"	Dr. Pravalika Bhimasani	Kamineni Academy of Medical Sciences , Hyderabad
2.	Sri B.Krishna Rao Memorial -  1st Prize  "A prospective study on the utility of broth microdilution for testing susceptibility of Dermatophytes to	Dr. P. Manaswi	Osmania Medical College

	antifungal agents"	Sri. B., Krishna Rao Memerial Pri- Post Co. Ites	
3.	Sri B.Krishna Rao Memorial -  2 <sup>nd</sup> Prize-  "A study to identify congenital syphilis "	Dr. Earnest Grace	Osmania Medical College
4.	Smt.B.S.Lakshmi Memorial Prize for Junior Faculty "Antimicrobial use & resistance: survey of knowledge & awareness of general public in Chittoor district "	Dr. K. Prasanna Lakshmi	SVMC, Tirupathi
5.	RMC Senior Faculty award- "Molecular Characterizaionof Fluoroquinalone resistance / resistance inferred by Genotype MTBDR and or swquencing among Isoniazid monoresistance Tuberculosis "	Dr. Nitin Mohan	GIMSR, Visakhapatnam

6.	Sri I.S.N Murthy Memorial -  1stPrize for Posters  "A study on detection and characterization of bacterial pathogens isolated from throat swabs by using manual methods and molecular techniques in a tertiary care hospital"	Dr. Essam Gouthami	Osmania Medical College
7.	Sri I.S.N Murthy Memorial -  2 <sup>nd</sup> Prize for Posters  A study of drug resistance patterns in Gram-negative bacteria from urinary isolates with a note on detection of ESBL and AmpC producers and their clinical impact	Dr. Tabassum Amber	NRIIMS , Sangivalasa
8.	Guntur Medical College -  1 <sup>st</sup> Prize for Pedagogy-	Dr. Zorinpuii Ralte	Gandhi Medical College
9.	Guntur Medical College -  2 <sup>nd</sup> Prize for Pedagogy-	Dr. M. Mahesh Babu	Dr. PSIMS & RF
10.	Dr.Satayanarayana Memorial  1st Prize-PG Quiz	Dr. S. Priyavalli	Osmania Medical College

11.	Dr.Satayanarayana Memorial  2 <sup>nd</sup> Prize-PG Quiz	Dr. K. Snehitha	Andhra Medical College
12.	Sri M. Lakshmi narasamma Memorial Prize -Dr.NTR UHS TOPPER- PG DEGREE EXAMINATIONS	Dr. Yona Manchikalapati	SR, AIIMS, Bibinagar
13.	Smt.P.C Chittimani Memorial Prize -KNRUHS TOPPER	Dr. Naila Fathima	
14.	Gandhi Medical College for Oral Presentations 1 <sup>st</sup> Prize Microbiology of Ventilator associated pneumonia at a tertiary care hospital"	Dr. Syed Aamreen Fathima	Kamineni Academy of Medical and Research Center
15.	Gandhi Medical College for oral Presentations 2 <sup>nd</sup> Prize- "Phenotypic detection of inducible clindamycin resistance in <i>Staphylococcus</i> species isolated from clinical samples in a tertiary care hospital"	Dr. K. V. B. Janardhan	Rangaraya Medical College

16.	PG Write Up Prize  "Automation in Microbiology "	Dr. Archana	Osmania Medical College
17.	PG Write Up Prize  "Microbiome and Human  Health "	Dr. Rajesh Khanna	AIIMS, Bibinagar
18.	PG Write Up Prize  "Monkey pox, an Emerging viral infection"	Dr. Ernst Grace	Osmania Medical College
19.	PG Write Up Prize  "Recent Approaches on Vaccine development during epidemics"	Dr. Grace Olive	Gandhi Medical College
20.	PG Write Up Prize  "New Treatment option for infections with Carbapenamase resistant Bacteria"	Dr. Riya Mondal	ESIC. Hyderabad















































