## XXV IAMM TAPC CHAPTER SILVER JUBILEE ANNUAL STATE CONFERENCE - 2022 GITAM Institute of Medical Sciences and Research, Visakhapatnam 9<sup>th</sup> - 11<sup>th</sup> September 2022

## **SECRETARY'S REPORT**

The 25<sup>th</sup> Silver Jubilee Conference of IAMM TAPC was hosted by Department of Microbiology, GITAM Institute of Medical Sciences and Research, GITAM Deemed to be University from 10<sup>th</sup> to 11<sup>th</sup> of September 2022. The Conference Theme was "MICROBIAL OMICS".

Keeping in pace with the current challenges and technology perspectives, three Pre-Conference workshops were conducted on "Whole Genome Sequencing on Portable Long Read Platform", "Antimicrobial Resistance and its importance on patient management" and "Implementation of CBME Based UG Syllabus" on 9<sup>th</sup> September 2022.

First Day of Conference was on 10<sup>th</sup> September 2022, started with Dr K. Rajya Lakshmi Oration by Dr Ranganathan Iyer, Consultant Clinical Microbiologist, Gleneagles Global Hospitals, Hyderabad on "Clinical Microbiology in the Kal(i) Yug. Does it serve Patients". The conference was inaugurated by Shri. M. Sri Bharat, Hon'ble President, GITAM, Release of Conference Souvenir by Dr Gitanjali Batmanabhane, Pro VC Medical Sciences, GITAM Deemed to be University, and Other Dignitaries were Dr Shilpa Kandipalli, APMC Observer, Dr I. Jyothi Padmaja, Organizing Secretary, Dr K. Nagamani (President, IAMM – TAPC), Dr Mohammad Khaleel (Secretary, IAMM – TAPC). Release of Silver Jubilee Limited edition book with Life member directory - Sponsored by Dr A. Kishore, Treasurer

Release of e-bulletin 2022 by GITAM University President virtually- Shri. M. Sri Bharat

New launch of Website with our own domain www.iammtapc.in by Dr D.S. Murty sir and Dr Vijendra Kawle - Joint Secretary

In memory of Demised Microbiology Wall of Tribute - by Dr P. Hema Prakash, Co-organizing secretary, Dr Y. Uma Rani, Executive member. The session was concluded with proposal of vote of thanks by Dr D. R. Harika, Associate professor, GIMSR.

Three Senior Professors of Microbiology were felicitated i.e., Dr Savitri Sharma, Director Emeritus, LVPEI, Dr Radha, Retired Professor, and Dr Rajendra Prasad, Steel Plant. Dr V.

Lakshmi, Professor Kamineni Academy of Medical Sciences and Research Centre gave Guest Lecture on "Translational Research – My journey ". Other Guest lecturers were By Dr Vamsi Krishna Yenamandra, Physician, Scientist & Assistant Professor, CSIR, Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology. Guest lecture on Recent Advances in TB Resistance and Emerging Diagnostics was given by Dr Arun Karthik. Medical Affairs Manager, South Diagnostic Systems, BD Life Sciences. Various Prize Paper sessions under the categories of Dr C. S. Bhaskaran Award, Sri. B. Krishna Rao Memorial Prize for PGs, Sri. B. S. Lakshmi Memorial prize for Junior Faculty, RMC Prize for Senior Faculty and free papers were conducted. 1<sup>st</sup> day conference ended with General Body meeting. Dr I. Jyothi Padmaja, Principal & Professor, Department of Microbiology, GIMSR has been elected as President of IAMM TAPC Chapter.

Dr Kishore. A, Treasurer, IAMM TAPC State Chapter has distributed the Budget, It was approved by members attended, amendments made are displayed on website as minutes of Meeting.

The Second Day scientific session started with Presidential Oration by Dr K. Nagamani, President, IAMM TAPC followed by PG quiz (Dr Satyanarayana Prize) in a digital platform for the first time conducted by Dr T. Lakshmi Jyoti, Executive member.

PG Pedagogy (topic name with colleges involved) by Dr M Shabnum, Executive Member.

PG Write up Competition on various trending topics along with Judges were approved by Executive committee and well organized by Dr Sudha Madhuri, Executive member.

The second guest lecture was given by Dr Savitri Sharma, Director Emeritus, LVPEI on Recent Advances in *Pythium insidiosum* keratitis. On Second Day PG Pedagogy (Guntur Medical College Prize) and Shri. I.S.N Murthy Memorial Prize for Posters was conducted. The session ended with valedictory session and Prize Distribution.